A flash from my own past.

A scene from not all that long ago and yet it seems several lifetimes. Yet I find I can without thought bring this and many similar images to mind without having to close my eyes. I can still smell the stink of kerosene, JP4, WD40 and Carbon Tetrachloride and feel the hundreds of tiny vibrations that rippled through my body each time we took to the air.

My body remembers the aches from seemingly endless hours strapped into those ejection seats, my mind waring between praying I’d never have to pull that handle while at the same time praying the damn thing would work if I needed it to, and being thankful for a crew-chief who gave a damn about the airplane around us. 

Today is Veterans Day, a day we take to pause and remember those who went before us, to thank those who served with us, and to say Thank You to those who serve now.

Regardless of which branch of the armed forces you served in or currently serve, I wish you all safe skies, fair winds and following seas, and may we truly have peace on earth and goodwill to all.

