I’ve heard it argued that writers are story tellers, but story tellers are not necessarily writers. You decide.

Presented for your pleasure, an old chestnut:

Dr. Epstein was a renowned physician who earned his undergraduate, graduate, and medical degrees in his home town and then left for Manhattan, where he quickly rose to the top of his field. Some years later he was invited to deliver a significant paper  at a conference which was to be held at the medical school in his home town.

 

The day of the presentation, he walked on stage and placed his papers on the lectern, but they slid off onto the floor. As he bent over to retrieve them, he inadvertently farted. The microphone amplified mistake resounded through the room and reverberated down the hall!  Embarrassed, he managed to regain enough composure to deliver his paper. He ignored the resounding applause and raced out the stage door.

He was not to be seen in his home town until, several decades later, he learned that his elderly mother had become seriously ill. When he returned to visit her, he reserved a hotel room under the name of Levy.

The desk clerk asked him, “Is this your first visit to our city, Mr. Levy?”

Dr. Epstein replied, “Well, young man, no, it isn’t. I grew up here and received my education here, but then I moved away.”

Why haven’t you visited?” asked the desk clerk

“Actually, I did visit once, many years ago, but an embarrassing thing happened and since then I’ve been too ashamed to return.”

The clerk tried to console him. “Sir, while I don’t have your life experience, one thing I have learned is that often what seems embarrassing to me isn’t even remembered by others. I bet that’s true of your incident too.”

Dr. Epstein replied, “Son, I doubt that’s the case with my incident.”

“Was it a long time ago?”

“Yes, many years.”

The clerk asked, “Was it before or after the Epstein Fart?”

 

 

